ARTICLE DETAIL

January 29, 2018

Maryland’s Paid Sick Leave Law: Are You In Compliance?

The law requires employers with
over 14 employees
to provide
paid sick and safe leave.
The law requires employers with
14 or less employees
to provide
unpaid sick and safe leave.
In order to get ready for implementation of this legislation employers should act
immediately to avoid costly compliance issues.1. Employers should compare their existing paid leave policies, if any, to the requirements of the Act.Employers should compare their existing paid leave policies, if any, to the requirements of the Act.

2. Employers should ensure their time keeping systems have the capability of tracking the accrual of paid leave

3. Employers should ensure that existing leave policies allow for the use of paid leave in all the situations contemplated by the Act.

4. Employers who do not currently have an existing paid leave policy should develop one by the implementation deadline.PK Law’s Labor and Employment Attorneys Can Help.

PK Law’s Labor and Employment Attorneys Can Help.

Contact a member of PK Law’s
Labor and
Employment Group
to discuss our Flat Rate Reviews
of existing paid leave policies
for compliance or development
of a policy.
For additional information go to
goo.gl/pp6BF8.   Want to receive PK Law’s HR Tips in your inbox?
 

Leslie R. Stellman, Esq.
410.339.6752
lstellman@pklaw.comEdmund J. O’Meally, Esq.
410.339.6757
eomeally@pklaw.comRochelle S. Eisenberg, Esq.
410.339.6773
reisenberg@pklaw.com
Lisa Y. Settles, Esq.
410.339.5783
lsettles@pklaw.comAndrew G. Scott, Esq.
410.339.6744
ascott@pklaw.comDavid A. Burkhouse, Esq.
410.740.3150
dburkhouse@pklaw.com
Kambon R. Williams, Esq.
410.769.6142
kwilliams@pklaw.comAdam E. Konstas, Esq.
410.339.5786
akonstas@pklaw.comJennifer Ciarrocchi, Esq.
410.938.8709
jciarrocchi@pklaw.com